A Woman in Washington

This morning is the first beautiful spring day in DC after a long winter, and I am struggling to get through another minute in my cubicle. When I opened my daily newsletter from Refinery29 I found this inspirational clip from Elle’s annual Women in Washington feature, helping me remember that hard work can pay off. Not that it will, but that if I have the confidence to get myself there I can make it anywhere.

Growing up in the small town of Hailey, Idaho the concept of feminism is often scoffed at. I have always tiptoed around political conversations, not wanting to displease anyone. Yet when I saw these beautiful women exuding confidence; publicly acknowledging that, as women, we face additional challenges and feel the need to prove ourselves in the workplace, I realized it is time to stop being a sheep to the beliefs of my upbringing.

These strong women have worked hard to get where they are today, swimming upstream to make a difference. Women’s rights have come a long way, but our confidence could use some work. Rather than being afraid of failure let us celebrate our success, hold our heads high, and accomplish our dreams without letting hesitation stand in our way. Let us be sisters rather than rivals, and help one another reach the top.

You can find Refinery29’s post HERE.

For more information on “The Gender Divide” take a look at these stats from The Wall Street Journal.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.